The five pillars of Islam

5 pillars of islam

5 pillars of islam – overview

The five pillars of Islam comprise five official acts obligatory for all Muslims.

The Quran presents them as a framework for worship and a sign of commitment to faith. The five pillars are the shahadah (witnessing the oneness of God and the prophethood of Muhammad), regular observance of the five prescribed daily prayers, paying zakah (almsgiving), fasting (sawm; siyyam) during the month of Ramadan. And performance of the hajj (pilgrimage during the prescribed month) at least once in a lifetime.

The first pillar, the shahadah

consists of two declarations. The first, “There is no god but God,” affirms belief in a single divine reality (tawhid). The second, “Muhammad is the messenger of God,” affirms submission to God via acceptance of his message as revealed to humanity through Muhammad. This declaration of faith signifies entrance of the believer into the broader community of Muslims and is required of converts to Islam.

The second pillar, the five daily prayers

signifies the believer’s submission to God and serves as public, physical evidence of the believer’s adherence. Prayers should performe just before dawn, at noon, in mid afternoon, just after sunset, and in the evening, between an hour after sunset and midnight. They should also pray in the direction of Mecca. And must be carried out in a state of ritual purity, achieved by either ritual ablutions or a bath. Movements during prayer imitate entrance into the presence of a great ruler (symbolized by the raising of the hands to the ears and proclamation of the glory and majesty of the ruler for all to hear), bowing reverently, and then uttering the opening chapter of the Quran, the Surat al-Fatihah.

The worshipers then utter other Quranic verses while completing the ritual bowing, which is followed by prostration, performed on the knees with both hands on the ground and the forehead touching between them. Worshipers repeat their glorification of God and prostration three times. The entire cycle of prayer (rakah) should be then repeated. After every two cycles and after the third cycle in the sunset prayer, the prayer sits back on the heels and addresses God with a ritual prayer calling forth God’s blessings upon Muhammad.

After completing all cycles of canonical prayer, the worshiper sits back on the heels and recites the shahadah. Formally reaffirming the truth of Islam and engaging the worshiper in direct communication with God. The prayer ends with an invocation of peace. Every canonical prayer requires between two and four rakahs. That makes seventeen Rakhas daily.

The third pillar is the zakah (alms tax)

typically paid to a religious official or representative of the Islamic state or to a representative of a local mosque. This amount is traditionally set at one-fortieth, or 2.5 percent, of the value of all liquid assets and income-generating properties owned by the believer. It is used to feed the poor, encourage conversion to Islam, ransom captives, help travelers, support those devoting themselves to God’s work, relieve debtors, defend the faith, and any other purpose deemed appropriate. The zakah serves as a reminder of one’s broader social responsibilities to the community.

The fourth pillar is observation of the monthlong fast (sawm) of Ramadan

(the ninth month of the lunar Islamic calendar), from sunrise to sunset. The believer is supposed to abstain from food, drink, and sexual activity during the daylight hours, demonstrating affirmation of ethical awareness and serving as a purifying act of sacrifice of one’s bodily desires for the sake of God. The direct experience of pain and hunger over a prolonged period of time reminds the believer. Of the pain and hunger experienced by the poor.

The fifth pillar is the pilgrimage to Mecca

during the first ten days of the month of Dhu al-Hijjah. The essential rites of the hajj are:

-The putting on of the ihram (unsewn cloth symbolizing the humility and equality of all believers).

-Circumambulation of the Kaaba, also standing at the plain of Arafat, spending the night at Muzdalifa.

-Throwing stones at three symbols of Satan.

-Sacrifice of an animal at Mina, the repetition of the circumambulation of the Kaaba.

-Drinking of water from the well of Zamzam.

-Performance of two cycles of prayer at the Station of Abraham.

It can be considered complete without performing all of the required rites. But the pilgrim must pay expiation for the failure to complete them. During the hajj, the pilgrim is to avoid thinking about anything but the remembrance of God and the rites of pilgrimage, since the circumambulation of the Kaaba. Like canonical prayer, symbolizes the believer’s entrance into the divine presence. Both Sunnis and Shiis agree on the essential details for carrying out the five pillars. Also the shahadah became a constant recollection of God and the obligatory prayers became a life of continuous prayer.

Thank you all for reading my blog and do not forget to read the other ones also  🙂

Best regards


Leave a Reply